F0ckers rejected my reply! Let me guess, I have to be accepted into their SenderID program to reply to the message that *they asked me to reply to* re: the fact that I'm being rejected by SenderID. I'm going to rename my host to catch-22. (Actually, I might; I kinda like that for a hostname.) Reporting-MTA: dns;ext-imc-01.partners.extranet.microsoft.com Received-From-MTA: dns;TK5-EXHUB-C101.redmond.corp.microsoft.com Arrival-Date: Thu, 5 Jun 2008 12:18:19 -0700 Final-Recipient: rfc822;SENDS.SNID.WW.00.EN.SYK.MNL.TS.T01.SPT.00.EM@css.one.microsoft.com Action: failed Status: 5.1.0 Diagnostic-Code: smtp;554 5.1.0 Sender Denied ---------------------------- Original Message ---------------------------- Subject: RE: SRX1069187481ID - SenderID From: postmaster@example.com Date: Thu, June 5, 2008 3:07 pm To: "Microsoft Customer Support" -------------------------------------------------------------------------- Hi, Janet. Thanks for the reply, which was not easy for me to receive. After several attempts at filling out https://support.msn.com/eform.aspx?productKey=senderid&page=support_senderid_options_form_byemail&ct=eformts, I never received a reply. So, I started monitoring my incoming mail logs, and noticed many connections from Microsoft mail servers that all abruptly terminated. Long story short, your mailer sends bare LF's, which MTA's aren't supposed to permit. Please see http://cr.yp.to/docs/smtplf.html (As an organization trying so hard to keep my legitimate mail from reaching Hotmail recipients, I would have thought Microsoft would not be guilty of producing malformed mail.) Anyway, I temporarily allowed messages containing bare LF's through, and got this reply to (one of my) form submissions. Now, as for my domain, example.com. I do have a valid SPF record. I changed it 4 times in recent weeks to try and satisfy hotmail, but it's been there for a long time. This past Sunday I moved my host to a new data center and got a new IP, but your DNS servers should, by now, see that change. Certainly there was not DNS replication at play several weeks ago when I initially submitted the SenderID form, and I had a valid SPF record, then, too. Using the links from the SenderID resources page, I got valid (passing) reports from: http://www.port25.com/domainkeys/ and http://senderid.espcoalition.org/ Can example.com please be allowed by SenderID? Why are my mails to senderid@micorsoft.com rejected? My mail setup and DNS configuration are, and have always been, correct. BTW, here's what I see in DNS: dig TXT example.com ; <<>> DiG 9.4.1-P1 <<>> TXT example.com ;; global options: printcmd ;; Got answer: ;; ->>HEADER<<- opcode: QUERY, status: NOERROR, id: 62020 ;; flags: qr rd ra; QUERY: 1, ANSWER: 1, AUTHORITY: 2, ADDITIONAL: 2 ;; QUESTION SECTION: ;example.com. IN TXT ;; ANSWER SECTION: example.com. 3600 IN TXT "v=spf1 a mx ip4:192.168.1.1 mx:charon.example.com -all" ;; AUTHORITY SECTION: example.com. 1753 IN NS ns2.linode.com. example.com. 1753 IN NS ns1.linode.com. ;; ADDITIONAL SECTION: ns2.linode.com. 2670 IN A 65.19.178.10 ns1.linode.com. 2664 IN A 69.93.127.10 ;; Query time: 66 msec ;; SERVER: 207.192.69.4#53(207.192.69.4) ;; WHEN: Thu Jun 5 14:58:59 2008 ;; MSG SIZE rcvd: 174 > Hello Postmaster, > > > Thank you for writing to Sender ID Management Team. My name is Janet and I understand that you would like your domain be added to the Sender ID program. I know how important it is for you to have your issue > addressed. > > We have added your domain to the Sender ID queue. However, we were not able to add this domain to the Sender ID program as we were unable to find any SPF record associated with this domain. If the domain provided to us is not the correct name please let us know, by replying to this email. > > It is possible that you have made the changes to your DNS information, but this has not fully replicated throughout the internet. The good news is that you do not need to notify us when you create or any revisions to your SPF record since we will automatically pull the current record from the DNS daily. Once a SPF record is found your domain will leave the Sender ID queue and be added to the Sender ID program. > > You can find technical information on the Sender ID program at > http://www.microsoft.com/senderid . > > > Regards, > > > Janet B. > Sender ID Management Team > > > _____ > > > > --- Original Message --- > From : postmaster@example.com > Sent : Wednesday, June 04, 2008 7:38:06 PM UTC > To : SENDS.SNID.WW.00.EN.SYK.MNL.TS.T01.SPT.00.EM > Subject : SenderID > > Service: > SenderID > > What type of problem do you have? > Contact email address > postmaster@example.com > > Domain name(s) to be added to the SenderID program. Please use a new line for each domain. > example.com > > > Does the domain have a SPF record? > Yes [Yes] > > If Yes, what is the SPF record associated with domain(s) Please separate each SPF record with a semi-colon. > v=spf1 a mx -all > > > > Which operating system are you using?Windows XP: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.8.1.14) Gecko/20080404 Firefox/2.0.0.14 > > Which browser are you using: Firefox2.0.0.14 > > Location: en-us - English (United States) > > Type of Support: E-mail Support > > Browser Default Language: en-us,en;q=0.5 >